A Poem of Guilty Conscience

Here was a poem I wrote comparing how I felt when I lied to the experience of a man jumping off a helicopter. In my next post, I will talk about the essence and nature of lies, or the question of why we lie.

I have told my parents a horrible lie and my conscious has weighted me down.

Like a man who doesn’t know how to swim that is high up in the sky,

Initially safe in the comforts of his helicopter,

So was my heart, guilty free of the problems of the sea, high in spirits.

But soon these spirits were gone and problems arose,

Just as the man is pushed off the helicopter and kicked out into sea.

Down the man plummets, landing flat-faced into the sea,

Down my heart goes, shattered at the landing.

The man tries to inflate his life jacket,

thinking he will not have to bother with his inability to swim,

So did I try to ignore my lie, thinking no problems would arise from it.

But the life jacket fails and the man is submerged, unable to breathe,

Just as my heart cannot breathe free of the clutter of problems that surround my lie.

He makes his final struggle but the body goes limp.

The man dies and his body sinks lower and lower into the deep dark sea,

As did my good spirit pass away

And fall lower and lower into shameful depths of immorality.

This poem I wrote was actually originally for an epic simile assignment from my English class. Apparently, I didn’t think this was good enough so I turned another one in. So what is an epic simile? An epic simile is not a simile that is so epic. Although that definition would be pretty funny. Rather, it is a relatively long simile that can go in two ways. One way is to compare an extraordinary experience with something commonplace, so that way the reader understands this experience. For instance, by comparing a god flying through the air with a dove flying, the reader can get a visual for how gods fly. The second way is to make something seem much grander or more dramatic by comparing something commonplace with something unordinary. For instance, in my poem, I compared lying, something everybody has been through, with a guy jumping off a helicopter into the ocean, something you definitely don’t see everyday. It in a sense makes my lying feel more devastating than it actually seems. Well, that’s your literary term for the day.

Leave a Reply

