Controlling Your Emotions

Hello readers. Yesterday, I talked about whether manners were important in today’s society. However, I want to ask: what causes bad manners?

Bad manners can come out of the lack of knowledge. For instance, in Nepal, burping is good and even expected after eating a meal. To Nepalese people, it shows that you truly enjoyed the meal. However, we all know that in the US and in many European countries, burping is rude, disgusting, and unimaginably horrid. So if a Nepalese person came to the US and burped after a meal, he’s technically having bad manners, due to his lack of knowledge of US etiquette.

But perhaps the main reason why bad manners occur is because of our emotions. Below is a psychologist telling why we need to control our emotions.

Thinking about it, most of the bad manners I have done as a little kid was usually resulting from my emotions. One time, I didn’t like what a teacher told me to do, so I stuck my tongue out at her. (Geez, why did I do that?) Another time, I felt really really lonely, so during a spelling test I cracked jokes at everybody so everybody would pay attention to me. Other times, I had feelings of resentment inside me so I simply yelled at my parents. Even if the reason why I was feeling angry was not their fault.

So I guess we all need to control our emotions. Sometimes, it is emotions that can cloud our judgment, thus resulting in poor acting and behavior and thus bad manners.

One thought on “Controlling Your Emotions

  1. I simply want to say I am just all new to blogging and site-building and seriously liked your web-site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your website . You certainly come with tremendous articles and reviews. Kudos for revealing your blog site.

Leave a Reply

